What better way to start a Monday by making a list of a few things I’d really like to accomplish before the week is up. I’ve become a list maker recently, mostly to keep myself more organized around the house to keep up with everything. I tend to get overwhelmed easily if there is too much going on and then I get paralyzed and don’t get anything done at all. Setting up tasks and goals along the way helps me stay motivated and focused.  This week’s goals are as follows:

1. Complete at least three 5 mile runs. Since I depend on hubby to watch the kids when I run, it depends on his flexibility but I think because of the holiday this week, I should easily be able to do this. I just need to keep it at the forefront of my mind or days get away from me and then it’s too late. Today, I’m hitting the street in my running shoes the second he gets home at 12:30.

2. This one is lofty and it actually doesn’t involve ME doing anything, but it’s a goal nonetheless and if nothing else, it involves me nagging hubby until it’s done. I’d like to be moved into the 3rd bedroom by Sunday afternoon and have the bedroom we’re currently in now transitioned to the office/playroom.

3.  Sell some stuff on Craigslist. I have some things that I have sitting around that are just waiting to be sold and I keep putting it off. Somehow taking pictures of my junk and uploading them isn’t nearly as interesting to me as doing so with pictures of my children. And they aren’t for sale. I have to get some good pictures and get these things listed. I’ll be tossing the money I make from them into my new jar that collects spare cash and change.  That brings me to the next goal.

4. I started this jar, well, um, 10 minutes ago. The idea came to me in the middle of the night. As I have said before, I am an all cash girl. And often after going out w/ my list and budget, I come home w/ a spare $3 or so. I’m not making a run to the bank to deposit that in savings. I could, but I’m not. Instead, I’ll put it in my jar and I have a feeling it will add up pretty fast. It’s going to be our rainy day fun money. Instead of nickle and diming it away, it’ll accumulate enough for me to use it on more than a latte or milkshake. And since we’re already doing well with putting money in savings, it’s guilt-free. We’ll see how this actually works out. Spare $5 spending is one of my biggest downfalls. If I can resist the urge I think I’ll be quite surprised at the results.

5. Since it’s Thanksgiving week, I intend to do some reflecting – mostly on the past year and how far my family has come and all that I have to be thankful for. I may not have a perfectly put together home or a whole laundry list of other things but things are really quite good and I’m so thankful for that.

