Sailing down behind the sun,
Waiting for my prince to come.
Praying for the healing rain
To restore my soul again.

Just a toerag on the run.
How did I get here?
What have I done?
When will all my hopes arise?
How will I know him?
When I look in my father’s eyes. ~Eric Clapton

I danced the father-daughter dance at my wedding to that song. I get teary and choked up if I hear it and just reading the lyrics makes me a wee bit emotional.

My father and I, we have a wonderful relationship today. Thanks to a whole lot of hard work on his part and a whole lot of forgiveness on mine. I love him, 100% I love him, but it’s not always easy. You know how “they” say that we have the hardest time dealing with the things in others that we see in ourselves? Well, my father has a lot of wonderful great things about him, like he’s seriously the most hands on attentive grandfather I could imagine, he’s hilarious, he’s hard working, he’s loads of fun, and he’s super smart. He’s also got a temper, he’s got this super irritating tendency to think he’s right all the time, and he’s very impatient. We butt heads – A LOT.
My dad, he’s a fun guy. He likes to play and goof around and joke and laugh at everything. But he also can be very very serious about a few things. One of the biggest of those things is money. He is no nonsense about finances and how one should handle money and take care of themselves financially. He believes education is extremely important. He believes that saving for tomorrow is so much more important than what one has today.

And this is how I have become my father’s daughter. I never used to think this way. I am very impulsive, I like to live in the moment, and oftentimes I forget that there is a tomorrow to worry about. But thanks to my dad and his guidance (you could also call it nagging), I have come to appreciate the importance of what he’s taught me over the years.

When I was 10, my mom went out shopping at Christmastime as she always did and filled under the tree with all sorts of wonderful gifts of fun stuff for my brother and I. I knew the gift I opened that Christmas morning was from my dad when it was a book entitled “How to Make Your Money Grow”. I remember rolling my eyes, probably even laughing and tossing it aside. Man, I wish I had that book today.

I am going to have to call dad tomorrow, and thank him for his efforts in my early years and apologize for laughing at what was important to him and not taking it seriously for a long time. I never really thought about money and finances, taking care of money, keeping money. I always thought money was to spend. I wasn’t listening. Now I am. And dad, I hope that even though it’s taken a while, you know I’m finally paying attention. I love you and I admire you for your efforts and your support of me.

