A few days ago, I went on a holiday home tour. It was in a small town about an hour away from me and there were 5 home stops along the way. I love stuff like that because I love seeing other people’s homes, how they decorate them and such. A couple of the houses were HUGE as in 7 bedrooms and 3 kitchens huge and a couple were just modest homes. One actually reminded me a lot of my own home. Small, cutesy, cottage-y and charming. In the office, next to the computer was a sign that read “Money doesn’t buy happiness. But it does buy everything else.”

Upon first glance, I laughed. Then I kinda frowned. I wasn’t sure what to think of it. I suppose I could’ve just not placed a judgement on it at all but being as I am somewhat engrossed in all things financial lately, it caught my attention longer than it would have a year ago anyway.

It wasn’t until I saw that sign that I started to notice more things around the house. 2 refrigerators, 2 ovens, 2 dishwashers even! A tanning booth. A few designer handbags. But still the home didn’t reek of excess. There was a convertible in the driveway but in the homeowners defense it wasn’t brand new and it wasn’t a Bimmer πŸ˜‰

I’m spending too much time actually writing about this person and what they have. I really just want to comment on that actual phrase. “Money doesn’t buy happiness but it does buy everything else”. Don’t a lot of people think that you may not physically be able to buy happiness but that buying things will bring happiness? I can’t think of many people I know who don’t long for a bigger paycheck. Why? You don’t hear many people say they want a raise so they have more money to invest in the future, do you? Well, maybe there is a bit of a new trend starting. People who want to get out of debt, live more simply, save for the future. But I do still think that people want those things AND to have “stuff” too. I see plenty of so-called financially savvy people who still have the newest TVs, laptops, and other big ticket items. I guess it’s just part of human nature to want stuff and to still maybe be able to save a little.

But what’s happiness when you can just buy things? Who needs inner peace? Who needs to be truly content? Who needs thrilled beyond belief with just having love and beauty around you? LET’S BUY STUFF!!! You know what though? A lot of people seem to link happy with spending money. It doesn’t even have to be that the thing they’re buying makes them happy. Some people JUST find happiness in shopping. I used to be one of those people. If I was feeling stressed, I’d go shopping and feel better. Not because I bought a cute new skirt that looked great on me. Just because I bought something, I’d feel better. WHY? Why does frittering away ones money make a person feel better? I don’t know the answer to this. Maybe I need therapy to find out πŸ˜‰ Now, my shopping therapy has turned into cleaning therapy. I’m stressed? Clean. Things not going my way? Clean!. A clean house makes everything better. EVEN better than a cute flirty skirt does πŸ™‚ Maybe that’s because I’m engrossed and obsessed with keeping perfect something that isn’t draining everything from me. I love this house. It’s paid for. It’s cozy. It’s where my kids are growing up. IT is what matters now. I am cultivating and making improvements on something that gives back to me. It’s a reciprocal relationship. Finally. Putting my time, energy and money somewhere that actually gives back. What a nice feeling.

