Well, it’s finally Friday. It’s been a weird week for me. I’ve felt unsettled, anxious, unfocused. I’m looking forward to a relaxing weekend with hubby and kids. I don’t think I’ve mentioned that his work is cutting back on employee hours. He used to work lots of overtime and now they’re putting limits on it. So, instead of him working every weekend, he’s being forced to take every other weekend off. We’re ALL happy about it.

This week, I talked my mother into be assertive to go after some money that is rightfully hers. She bought a ticket on US Air last year and then cancelled her reservation. She has had a $600 credit with them and 2 months ago tried to use it and they claimed that it didn’t exist. So she dropped it and made her travel plans with Delta instead. She told me about this and I insisted that she get her credit. I mean – $600 for traveling somewhere isn’t chump change. Just because she can afford not to go after them for it doesn’t mean she shouldn’t. So she bugged them – wrote them emails, faxed them letters, and called them until they finally emailed her that she did have a credit with them. And told her 5 days ago that she had to book her travel and actually travel by January 30th. Well, that’s not going to happen. So she was assertive and insisted on an extension and they gave it to her. I told her “the worst that can happen is they say no”. She’s very pleased that she got her money and can use it now. So, in line with being assertive, I asked if she wants to use it to take me to Hawaii. The worst that can happen is she says no!
Enough about me…

Some of my blogging buddies have been busy being assertive this week too!

Paidtwice has contacted Saturn and they’re considering helping cover the costs of her engine replacement on a less than 100K mi car. Check out the rest of her blog while there and check back later to find out what Saturn says!

Be This Way’s hubby got Apple to issue a $200 credit on his Christmas present because of a drop in price within weeks of buying thier new Mac.

Other posts I enjoyed this week but that have nothing to do with assertiveness are

How I Taught My Preschooler the Value of a Dollar at Being Frugal

Debit Card Safety at This Wasn’t in the Plan

Happy Reading and Have a Lovely Weekend!!

