When I am feeling in a funk, like I just don’t want to do anything, I’m sad or overwhelmed, I find I need to do something quick to snap out of it. There are lots of things that I have found are quick easy ways to get myself out of a bad mood and settle right back into feeling happy and comfortable again, without spending a dime and often in 15 minutes or less.

Declutter – whether it’s a room, my whole house, or my car – a quick scramble through the house putting everything where it belongs, or just clearing off my desk or cleaning out my car can return me to a mellow place

Go for a walk – gather up the kids, dogs, whoever and get outside for some fresh air. It’ll do you some good and probably the kids and dogs too!

Rearrange a room – Add some freshness to your space by moving some things around – even just a new placement for a chair or table can make a room feel fresh and new and improve your spirits too.

Call a friend – there’s nothing like a good laugh or cry if necessary to pull me out of a funk. Sometimes just connecting with someone in that way can make me feel less isolated and back in great spirits

Decorate with flowers – preferrably you don’t have to climb your fence and cut them out of your neighbor’s garden to do this. Even if you do have to spend a dollar or two on clearance flowers at your supermarket – knock yourself out. Fresh flowers on your table are a sure way to brighten a dreary day.

Take a bath – even if just a 10-15 minute getaway at the end of the day, it’s a fabulous way to unwind, especially if paired with candles and a glass of wine.

Read a book or magazine – even if it’s one I’ve already read, the little escape flipping through the pages of a magazine mindlessly or diving into a favorite book is a sure way to release tension and leave me feeling ready to plug back in to the world.

What do you do to unwind and get out of a funk when you’re in one? I’d love to hear other ideas!

