I was doing so well there for a while going running regularly. Then life just kept getting in the way and I fell out of the habit. It’s just so.hard with two kids and having to rely on weather and daylight and hubby to watch the kids, blah blah excuses excuses.

Well, it wasn’t really hurting me any for a while – at least in terms of poundage. But I know that health and fitness are about more than just how much I weigh. I want to be strong and healthy and able to move furniture without needing to sit down with an ice pack afterwards.

But now here I am and I just weaned baby Eli from nursing. I always hear people talk about how they can’t lose those last stubborn few pounds of baby weight while breastfeeding but I am the opposite. I lost all my baby weight and then some very quickly and have had trouble keeping pounds on over the past year. In one week since not nursing anymore, I’ve gained 4 pounds *faint*

My mother suggested tonight after I was whining about all the foods I love that I can’t eat now because of my braces that I just eat ice cream all the time. Fabulous. I’ll look not only like a dorky 14 year old but I’ll be chubby too. Just what I need.

So, I am resolving to exercise in the mornings. I am going to do it in the comfort of my living room where I have no excuses. I can do it in the rain, I can do it in the dark. I can do it before the kids are up for the day or after they’re in bed at night. Since Eli is sleeping through the night now, I actually wake up in the mornings feeling refreshed instead of comatose so my goal is to get up at 5:30 each morning and do 30-60 minutes of exercise. I may even make a sticker chart. Hey, the reward system works for kids, maybe it’ll work for me too!

Wish me luck, I need it! I don’t want to see another 4 pounds on me next week!

