I love my life, I love my home, I love my friends. My friend who was going to host playgroup at her house tomorrow is sick and just canceled. My first thought was “I’ll offer to host it here!” then I went and looked at our playgroup calendar and 16 moms had voted for attending. 16 moms plus at least one kid each, many with 2 kids. Okay, that’s a lot of people in my little house. And my house isn’t finished. We still don’t even have siding. The timing for this would be so much better 2 weeks from now. Some of my friends have been here but not most of them. And here I sit afraid to invite everyone over.

I am happy with everything around me. But I am well aware that not everyone sees things the same and that there are plenty of people out there that wouldn’t enjoy themselves here. I know because I’ve seen it first hand women who get big houses and then pity those that live small. Think their big house is the envy of everyone who sets foot in it. Well, not me. But if there are enough of those women around, they’ll set foot in my home and feel sorry for me. And I don’t want pity. I just want to invite people over to my cozy little happy home and let my kids play with their friends in their house.

I know the saying goes “those that mind don’t matter and those that matter don’t mind”. It doesn’t matter what they think. Easier said than done, but still possible to keep reminding myself until it sticks. I think I am going to take a deep breath and invite over 40 people into my humble abode tomorrow. Wish me luck!

