The past couple of weeks around our home have been quite full of activity. It seems like when it rains it pours and we’ve been busily trying to finish stuff up and take care of things that keep coming up. Last week, my brakes started making a terrifying noise when I was driving one day. I immediately had hubby order the new parts to replace them. They took a few days to arrive in the mail and another couple of days before hubby was able to find the time to do it but they got done. I’m happy that my car is now running smoothly again and that hubby is all handy and was able to do it himself and save us tons of money in the process. I suppose that I balanced that out by having his car towed to the shop another day this week because it was having problems that he wasn’t able to pinpoint. He doesn’t know everything. I am aghast. Turns out it was that his injectors were spraying fuel into the engine. That sounds safe, huh? So that’s being worked on now and hopefully in a few days we’ll both have happy healthy cars.

Hubs also started doing the exterior of our house stuccoing. I am tres impressed that he has any idea how to do that. Where in the world does one learn that? I think I’ll keep him. It’s looking really great so far. A LOT nicer than looking at lathe all day!

And on top of all of those things, I’ve gotten the cleaning/organizing/decluttering bug again. It seems my tolerance for stuff is dwindling at a rapid speed. I woke up this morning and had the overwhelming urge to rent a dumpster. I resisted that urge but still filled a bunch of boxes and bags to take to Goodwill. I have a long way to go. I know by some standards we don’t have all that much stuff, but if it’s too much for me to be mellow, then it’s too much!

I find myself looking at the stuff I don’t use or wear that I want to rid my home of and having a little argument in my brain about how much I paid for something and then feeling guilty that I paid that money for something I don’t like or use anymore. But it is what it is and I just have to move on. In a perfect world, I would only ever spend money on stuff that would last forever and be loved forever, but alas, the world is not perfect nor am I.

I just have to keep trying to balance all of our needs and wants – getting rid of more stuff than we bring in. Simplifying doesn’t have to mean living with nothing. It can even mean keeping things that aren’t necessarily needed. I would like to strike a happy balance where everything just fits with our life and our goals and makes us happy. I won’t pretend to not like having some stuff just for the sake of decorating or coziness. For me, those things are important. But there are a lot of things that don’t fit that for our family so off they go to someone else who can enjoy them.

Hopefully I can eliminate enough stuff in the near future to get myself to more of an ohm place. And as for the money we’re dishing out for our cars and the house at the moment – I think we did the best we could to defray costs by doing most of it ourselves (and by ourselves I really mean hubby doing it himself. isn’t that funny how I say “we” a lot when really I don’t do much of anything?). For us, though, it’s by keeping things simple in the day to day stuff, not nickle and diming a lot away regularly and paying attention to the small stuff that helps us be able to do bigger stuff when it comes up.

So far, our balancing act is working out okay.

